Measure relative humidity icon

Relative humidity (ρ)

Air humidity refers to the proportion of water vapour in the gas mixture of the air.Humidity that is too high or too low indoors can have a negative impact on people's well-being and health.

Can be measured with:

✓ Measurable with air-Q light, air-Q basic and air-Q pro as well as air-Q science

Definition

Humidity describes the water vapour content in the air and is measured in absolute terms in g/m³ and in relative terms in %. Water vapour is not to be confused with the clouds of steam that rise from a pot of boiling water, even if the name suggests this temptation. Water vapour is gaseous water and thus, like any other component of air, invisible.

Relative humidity describes the ratio between absolute and maximum humidity. It therefore describes the ratio of the water vapour actually contained in the air to the maximum possible water vapour content and is given as a percentage.

In general, a distinction is made between absolute, relative and maximum humidity. Absolute humidity is defined as the mass of water vapour contained in a specified volume of air. Maximum humidity is the highest possible absolute humidity at a given temperature.

The lower the temperature of the air, the less water vapour it can absorb. When the air cools down, the maximum humidity can be exceeded if the previously warmer air already had a high relative humidity. Now the water condenses on the walls, floor and ceiling.

Limit values for relative humidity:

No legal limits have been set for either working or living spaces. In closed rooms, a relative humidity between 40 and 60 % is recommended. A range between 30 and 70 % relative humidity is considered acceptable. If the relative humidity exceeds 95 % or falls below 23 %, most people find the air uncomfortable.

The threshold for mould growth in rooms is exceeded at 60 % humidity. This applies with one restriction: if the exterior walls are significantly colder than the indoor air, which occurs especially in the cold half of the year.

Designationning Relative humidity limits
General recommendation Minimum value 40 %
General recommendation Maximum value 60 %

Consequences of too high or too low humidity:

If the humidity in a room is too low, breathing performance is reduced. In addition, dryness can lead to skin irritation and irritation. The mucous membranes can also dry out, which significantly increases the risk of infection from flu and colds. In extreme cases, it can lead to a frequent occurrence of nosebleeds.

If the relative humidity is too high, sweating as a means of regulating body temperature is impeded, which impairs well-being and thus performance. In addition, the circulation is strained in rooms that are perceived as humid.

In addition, there is the risk of mould growth indoors caused by high humidity. Most mould species prefer a relative humidity of 80 % at a temperature of 20 °C, although some species also develop at lower humidity. When inhaled, the spores and VOC gases of moulds can cause allergies as well as various other complaints. These include migraine, asthma, cough and cold, conjunctivitis as well as skin changes, joint pain and gastrointestinal complaints.

High humidity levels of over 60 % also lead to an increased reproduction of house dust mites. According to their increased population, these also emit more allergens, which is a particular burden for allergy sufferers.

Emergence:

Water vapour is produced during the evaporation of individual water molecules, which are released from the water surface with the help of thermal energy and pass into the air. This process is strongly dependent on the temperature of the water and the air. Other important factors include the size of the water surface and the degree of saturation of the air.

Humidity is created indoors by the breathing and sweating of the people and animals who live there. Cooking, showering or bathing and drying laundry also contribute to an increase in humidity. In addition, water can penetrate through leaky windows, roofs and walls, which later evaporates into water vapour. The relative humidity of a room is lowered through consistent insulation, frequent ventilation and strong heating.

Increased humidity over longer periods of time is a clear indication of water damage from heating or drinking water pipes in the partition walls.

Sensor used:

The relative humidity is measured in the air-Q by a sensor with very high accuracy. The temperature inside the air-Q is different from the temperature outside due to the self-heating of the air-Q. This self-heating also has an effect on the relative humidity measured inside the enclosure and is corrected for the outside of the enclosure using mathematical formulas. Nevertheless, the air-Q reacts somewhat more sluggishly to changes in humidity than an exposed sensor.

Measure relative humidity:

The air-Q air analyser can also measure or analyse relative humidity and other pollutants with one of its sensors. In addition, many facts about the air-Q can be found here. You can order the air quality measuring device in the online shop.

air-Q Air Quality Meter

Monitor air quality, all air components and environmental influences with the air-Q. For your health and performance.

Relative Luftfeuchte Icon

Relative Luftfeuchtigkeit (φ)

Luftfeuchtigkeit bezeichnet den Anteil des Wasserdampfes im Gasgemisch der Luft. Eine zu hohe oder zu niedrige Luftfeuchtigkeit in Innenräumen kann Wohlbefinden und Gesundheit des Menschen negativ beeinflussen.

Messbar mit dem air-Q

✓ Ja

Definition: Relative Luftfeuchtigkeit

Luftfeuchtigkeit beschreibt den Wasserdampfgehalt in der Luft und wird absolut gemessen in g/m³ und relativ in %. Nicht zu verwechseln ist Wasserdampf mit den Dampfschwaden, die aus einem Topf mit kochendem Wasser aufsteigen, auch wenn der Name diese Versuchung nahelegt. Wasserdampf ist gasförmiges Wasser und damit, wie jeder andere Bestandteil der Luft, unsichtbar.

Relative Luftfeuchtigkeit beschreibt das Verhältnis zwischen der absoluten und der maximalen Luftfeuchtigkeit. Sie beschreibt also das Verhältnis an vom tatsächlich in der Luft enthaltenen Wasserdampf gegenüber dem maximal möglichen Wasserdampfgehalt und wird in Prozent angegeben.

Im Allgemeinen wird zwischen absoluter, relativer und maximaler Luftfeuchtigkeit unterschieden. Die absolute Luftfeuchtigkeit ist definiert als die in einem festgelegten Luftvolumen enthaltene Masse an Wasserdampf. Unter der maximalen Luftfeuchtigkeit versteht man die höchstmögliche absolute Luftfeuchte bei einer bestimmten Temperatur.

Je geringer die Temperatur der Luft ist, desto weniger Wasserdampf kann sie aufnehmen. Bei Abkühlung kann es demnach passieren, dass die maximale Luftfeuchtigkeit überschritten wird, wenn die zuvor wärmere Luft schon eine hohe relative Luftfeuchtigkeit aufwies. Nun kommt es zur Kondensation des Wassers an Wänden, Fußboden und Decke.

Grenzwerte für relative Luftfeuchtigkeit:

Weder für Arbeits- noch für Wohnräume wurden gesetzliche Grenzwerte festgelegt. In geschlossenen Räumen wird eine relative Luftfeuchtigkeit zwischen 40 und 50 % empfohlen. Eine Spanne zwischen 30 und 70 % relativer Luftfeuchte gilt als akzeptabel. Überschreitet die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit 95 % oder sinkt sie auf unter 23 %, wird die Luft von den meisten als unbehaglich empfunden.

Die Schwelle zur Schimmelbildung in Räumen wird bei 60 % Luftfeuchte überschritten. Das gilt mit einer Einschränkung: Wenn die Außenwände deutlich kälter sind als die Raumluft, was besonders in der kalten Jahreshälfte auftritt.

Folgen von zu hoher oder zu niedriger Luftfeuchtigkeit:

Ist die Luftfeuchtigkeit in einem Raum zu gering, wird die Atemleistung vermindert. Zudem kann Trockenheit zu Hautreizungen und -irritationen führen. Auch können die Schleimhäute austrocknen, was das Infektionsrisiko für Grippe - und Erkältungserkrankungen deutlich erhöht. In extremen Fällen kann es zu einem gehäuften Auftreten von Nasenbluten führen.

Bei zu hoher relativer Luftfeuchtigkeit wird das Schwitzen als Regulierung der Körpertemperatur behindert, wodurch das Wohlbefinden und damit die Leistungsfähigkeit beeinträchtigt werden. Zudem wird der Kreislauf in als schwül empfundenen Räumen belastet.

Hinzu kommt die durch hohe Luftfeuchte hervorgerufene Schimmelbildungsgefahr in Innenräumen. Die meisten Schimmelpilzarten bevorzugen eine relative Luftfeuchtigkeit von 80 % bei einer Temperatur von 20 °C, wobei einige Arten auch schon bei geringerer Luftfeuchtigkeit entstehen. Die Sporen und VOC-Gase der Schimmelpilze können beim Einatmen neben Allergien auch verschiedene andere Beschwerden verursachen. Zu diesen zählen u.a. Migräne, Asthma, Husten und Schnupfen, Bindehautentzündungen sowie Hautveränderungen, Gelenkschmerzen und Magen-Darm-Beschwerden.

Bei hohen Luftfeuchtigkeiten von über 60 % kommt es zudem zur verstärkten Vermehrung von Hausstaubmilben. Diese geben entsprechend ihrer erhöhten Population auch vermehrt Allergene ab, was besonders Allergiker belastet.

Entstehung von Luftfeuchtigkeit:

Wasserdampf entsteht bei der Verdunstung einzelner Wassermoleküle, die sich mit Hilfe thermischer Energie von der Wasseroberfläche lösen und in die Luft übergehen. Dieser Prozess ist stark von der Temperatur des Wassers und der Luft abhängig. Zu weiteren wichtigen Faktoren zählen hierbei die Größe der Wasseroberfläche sowie der Sättigungsgrad der Luft.

In Innenräumen entsteht Luftfeuchte durch das Atmen und das Schwitzen der dort befindlichen Menschen und Tiere. Auch das Kochen, Duschen bzw. Baden sowie das Trocknen der Wäsche tragen zur Erhöhung der Luftfeuchtigkeit bei. Zudem kann durch undichte Fenster, Dächer und Wände Wasser eindringen, welches später zu Wasserdampf verdunstet. Durch konsequente Isolierung, häufiges Lüften und starkes Heizen wird die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit eines Raumes abgesenkt.

Erhöhte Luftfeuchtigkeit über längere Zeiträume ist ein deutliches Indiz für Wasserschäden von Heizungs- oder Trinkwasserleitungen in den Zwischenwänden.

Relative Luftfeuchtigkeit messen:

Der air-Q Luftanalysator kann mit einem seiner Sensoren auch die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit und weitere Schadstoffe messen beziehungsweise analysieren. Darüber hinaus sind viele Fakten rund um den air-Q hier zu finden. Das Luftqualität-Messgerät vorbestellen können Sie im Online-Shop.

Übersicht aller Messwerte
air-Q Luftqualität Messgerät

Luftbestandteile, Raumklima und Umwelteinflüsse mit dem air-Q überwachen. Für Ihre Gesundheit und Sicherheit.