Radon Concentration Radiation Protection Icon

Radon (Rn)

Radon is a noble gas whose decay releases radioactive particles (so-called alpha radiation).

Can be measured with:

✓ air-Q Radon is in progress and will be available in the air-Q online shop soon

Description:

Radon (Rn) is a chemical element from the main group of noble gases and, at 9.73 mg/cm³, the heaviest of the elemental gases. It is chemically non-reactive and colourless, odourless and tasteless under normal conditions.

All isotopes of this substance are radioactive. With an average effective dose per person (in Germany) of approx. 1.1 millisievert per year (mSv/a), radon has the largest share of radiation on the earth's surface. The most stable isotope is ²²Rn, which decays to radium after a half-life of 3.8 days. This and the isotopes ²²⁰Rn (thoron) and ²¹⁹Rn (actinon) are natural isotopes in the Earth's atmosphere and can accumulate in poorly ventilated rooms.

Radon is used in medicine to stimulate the immune system. In addition, the measurement of the radon content provides information about the quality of the groundwater. Radon measurements are also used in earthquake prediction and in the search for uranium ore deposits.

Limit values for radon:

Since 31 December 2018, the reference values issued by the EU as a directive and laid down in the German Radiation Protection Act have been binding. According to this, appropriate measures must be taken to reduce Rn concentrations of 300 Bq/m³ or more - i.e. 300 decays per second per cubic metre of air - in work and recreation rooms. Due to the differing radon levels in different areas, all federal states are required to determine compliance with this reference value by 2020.

The German Radiation Protection Commission (SSK) goes into even more detail in its assessments. It defines the standard range for the Rn content in indoor air at 250 Bq/m³. Values between 250 Bq/m³ and 1000 Bq/m³ are considered a discretionary range, in which adapted ventilation behaviour is sufficient to reduce radon. In the so-called remediation range at over 1000 Bq/m³, more elaborate measures to protect against radon damage are justified. The WHO and the German Radiation Protection Commission (SSK) recommend keeping the value permanently below 100 Bq/m³.

Designationning Radon limits
EU-wide Euratom standard 300 Bq/m³ per yearthroughcut
Planningguideline value for new buildings 200 Bq/m³ per yearthroughcut
WHO recommendation 100 Bq/m³

Consequences of too high Rn concentration:

According to studies by the World Health Organisation (WHO), radiation levels between 100 and 200 Bq/m³ can significantly increase the risk of lung cancer by 10 % per 100 Bq/m³. Smokers are particularly at risk because the carcinogenic properties of radon and tobacco smoke reinforce each other. Therefore, the Federal Office for Radiation Protection recommends taking precautionary measures to reduce radon concentrations as low as 100 Bq/m³.

With regard to drinking water, the German Commission on Radiological Protection (SSK) advocates a reference value of 100 Bq/litre, above which reduction measures should be examined.

Emergence of Rn:

Radon is formed when uranium and thorium decay in rock or soil. Since it does not chemically bind to the surrounding rock, it rises to the earth's surface through tiny cracks and joints in the rock and escapes into the atmosphere, the groundwater and into caves, mines, cellars and pipelines. In areas with high uranium and thorium deposits - in Germany especially in the Ore Mountains and the Bavarian Forest - there is also an increased concentration of Rn. Especially the accumulation in cellars, which are rarely ventilated, and the subsequent penetration into the ground floor, is an imperceptible health hazard.

In mines where uranium, lead or fluorspar are extracted, as well as in factories and laboratories where radium, thorium and uranium are worked with, an increase in radon levels can also be observed.

Measurement of radon:

The air-Q Radon is in the works and is expected to be released in the first half of 2022. This will add a sensor to the air-Q to measure another important component of the air(such as carbon monoxide or carbon dioxide).

Many facts about the technology of the air-Q can be found here on the website. You can order the air analyser air-Q in the online shop.

air-Q Air Quality Meter

Monitor air quality, all air components and environmental influences with the air-Q. For your health and performance.

Radon Icon

Radon (Rn)

Radon ist ein Edelgas bei dessen Zerfall radioaktive Partikel (sog. Alphastrahlung) frei werden.

Messbar mit dem air-Q

✓ über externes Modul

Beschreibung:

Radon (Rn) ist ein chemisches Element aus der Hauptgruppe der Edelgase und mit 9,73 mg/cm³ das schwerste der elementaren Gase. Es ist chemisch nicht reaktiv und unter Normalbedingungen farb-, geruch- und geschmacklos.

Alle Isotope dieses Stoffes sind radioaktiv. Mit einer durchschnittlichen effektiven Dosis pro Person (in Deutschland) von ca. 1,1 Millisievert pro Jahr (mSv/a) hat Radon am Strahlungsaufkommen auf der Erdoberfläche den größten Anteil. Als stabilste Isotop gilt ²²²Rn, welches nach einer Halbwertszeit von 3,8 Tagen zu Radium zerfällt. Dieses sowie die Isotope ²²⁰Rn (Thoron) und ²¹⁹Rn (Actinon) sind als natürliche Isotope in der Erdatmosphäre und können sich in schlecht durchlüfteten Räumen ansammeln.

Verwendung findet Radon in der Medizin zur Stimulierung des Immunsystems. Zudem gibt die Messung des Radongehalts Aufschluss über die Qualität des Grundwassers. Radonmessungen werden daneben in der Erdbebenvorhersage und bei der Suche nach Lagerstätten von Uranerz angewandt.

Grenzwerte für Radon:

Seit dem 31.12.2018 gelten die durch die EU als Richtlinie ausgegebenen und im deutschen Strahlenschutzgesetz festgelegten Referenzwerte verbindlich. Demnach müssen in Arbeits- und Aufenthaltsräume bei einer Rn-Konzentration ab 300 Bq/m³ – also 300 Zerfällen pro Sekunde pro Kubikmeter Luft – angemessene Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung dieser getroffen werden. Aufgrund der differierenden Radonbelastung in unterschiedlichen Gebieten sind alle Bundesländer bis 2020 dazu angehalten, die Einhaltung dieses Referenzwertes zu ermitteln.

Die deutsche Strahlenschutzkommission (SSK) geht in ihren Einschätzungen noch weiter ins Detail. Sie definiert den Normbereich für den Rn-Anteil in der Raumluft bei 250 Bq/m³. Als Ermessensbereich gelten Werte zwischen 250 Bq/m³ und 1000 Bq/m³, in welchem ein angepasstes Lüftungsverhalten zur Reduzierung des Radons ausreicht. Im sogenannten Sanierungsbereich bei über 1000 Bq/m³ sind aufwendigere Maßnahmen zum Schutz vor Radonschäden gerechtfertigt.

Folgen von zu hoher Rn-Konzentration:

Laut Studien der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) können schon Strahlungswerte zwischen 100 und 200 Bq/m³ das Lungenkrebsrisiko signifikant erhöhen und zwar um 10 % je 100 Bq/m³. Einer besonderen Gefährdung unterliegen Raucherinnen und Raucher, da sich die krebserregenden Eigenschaften von Radon und Tabakrauch gegenseitig verstärken. Daher empfiehlt das Bundesamt für Strahlungsschutz auch schon bei einer Radonkonzentration von 100 Bq/m³ vorsorglich Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung zu treffen.

Im Hinblick auf das Trinkwasser spricht sich die deutsche Strahlenschutzkommission (SSK) für einen Referenzwert von 100 Bq/Liter aus, ab welchem Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung geprüft werden sollten.

Entstehung von Rn:

Beim Zerfall von Uran und Thorium im Gestein oder im Erdreich bildet sich Radon. Da es sich chemisch nicht an das umgebende Gestein bindet steigt es durch winzige Risse und Fugen im Gestein zur Erdoberfläche und entwicht dort in die Atmosphäre, das Grundwasser sowie in Höhlen, Bergwerke, Keller und Rohrleitungen. In Gebieten mit hohem Uran- und Thoriumvorkommen – in Deutschland besonders im Erzgebirge und im Bayerischen Wald – ist auch eine erhöhte Rn-Konzentration zu verzeichnen. Vor allem das Ansammeln in Kellern, welche selten belüftet werden, und das daran anschließende Eindringen ins Erdgeschoss, ist eine nicht wahrnehmbare Gefahr für die Gesundheit.

In Bergwerken, in denen Uran, Blei oder Flussspat gefördert werden sowie in Fabriken und Laboren, in denen mit Radium, Thorium und Uran gearbeitet wird, ist ebenfalls ein Anstieg der Radonwerte zu beobachten.

Messung von Radon:

Der air-Q kann ab voraussichtlich Mitte 2020 mit einem optionalen Radon-Sensor nachgerüstet werden und wird damit zum ultimativen Messgerät für Radon im Besonderen und Luftqualität im Allgemeinen.  

Viele Fakten rund um die Technologie des air-Q sind hier auf der Webseite zu finden. Den Luftanalysator air-Q bestellen (Auslieferung voraussichtlich ab Dezember 2019) können Sie im Online-Shop.

Übersicht aller Messwerte
air-Q Luftqualität Messgerät

Luftbestandteile, Raumklima und Umwelteinflüsse mit dem air-Q überwachen. Für Ihre Gesundheit und Sicherheit.