particulates PM10 PM2.5 PM1 icon

particulates (PM₁ - PM₂,₅ - PM₁₀)

Particulates is a mixture of solid and liquid suspended particles with a very small diameter.Depending on the particle size and composition, particulates can have a lasting effect on the respiratory tract and the cardiovascular system. The air-Q air analyser can measure particulates of different particle sizes (PM₁₀, PM₂,₅, PM₁).

Can be measured with:

✓ measurable with air-Q basic and air-Q pro as well as air-Q science

Description:

The term "dust" describes a complex physical-chemical mixture of airborne, liquid or solid particles. These are also referred to as PM (English: particulate matter) and generally as particles in German.

Particles with a very small diameter that can reach the bronchial tubes are called "particulates" or even ultra-particulates. There are very large differences in the composition of different particulatess. particulates can contain both organic and inorganic material.

Different particle sizes that can be measured by the air-Q air analyser, for example, are referred to as PM₁₀, PM₂,₅ or PM₁.

particulates has a high absorption potential for gaseous trace substances. As a result, particularly pollutants with comparatively high boiling points (e.g. pesticides and plasticisers) accumulate very easily on particulates and increase the health risk by breathing air contaminated with particulates.

Limit values for PM₁, PM₂,₅ and PM₁₀:

Since the harmfulness of particulates depends on the size of the particles, different limit values have also been determined. In general, the smaller the particulates particles are, the deeper they can penetrate into the lungs and bloodstream. This increases their danger to humans.

For particulates PM₁₀ (whose particles are smaller than 10 µm), the Federal Environment Agency sets a daily limit of 50 μg/m³ and an annual mean of 40 μg/m³ for outdoor air. The daily limit value may only be exceeded on 35 days a year.

particulates with smaller particles can penetrate even deeper into the respiratory tract. Therefore, since 2015, the annual limit value of 25 μg/m³ in outdoor air set by the World Health Organisation (WHO) has also applied to particulates PM₂,₅ (particles with a diameter of less than 2.5 μm) in living spaces as an assessment value.

So far, there are no standardised measurement methods for even smaller particulates particles of the PM₁ category, which is why there is still no legal limit value for these particularly dangerous particles - because 100 % of them reach the alveoli. Particles this small are also referred to as ultra-particulates .

Designationning PM 1 PM 2.5 PM 10
EnvironmentFEDERAL DAybordervalue  -             -            50 µg/m³
EnvironmentFEDERAL OFFICE Yearbordervalue  -            25 µg/m³ 40 µg/m³

Consequences of too high a concentration:

The exact assessment of the health effects of particulate matter is difficult due to its inconsistent composition. However, it is generally assumed that particulates is harmful to health. In contrast to other pollutants, there are no real threshold values for the concentration of particulates below which no health effects would be expected - any amount, no matter how small, is considered harmful.

Regardless of the type of particulates, the particles irritate the respiratory tract and can lead to inflammatory changes there. Depending on their composition, pollutants bound in particulates can cause allergic reactions or, as in the case of coal dust, destroy the alveoli in the lungs.

The smaller particles in particular can also enter the bloodstream via the pulmonary alveoli and thus have a lasting effect on the cardiovascular system. Certain substances can also increase the risk of heart attack (e.g. sulphurous particulates) or have a carcinogenic effect (e.g. asbestos).

In addition, irritation of the mucous membranes of the eyes, nose and throat may occur. Damage to the central nervous system cannot be ruled out either.

Formation of particulates:

Natural emissions (e.g. from soil erosion, oceans, volcanoes, forest and bush fires) and biogenic particles (e.g. viruses, spores of fungi and bacteria, pollen drift, excretions of house dust mites) are considered to be particularly frequent particulates sources. However, man-made air pollution is without doubt the main cause of particulates.

In the outdoor air, particulate matter originates mainly from emissions from industrial plants, power stations and road traffic. Likewise, agricultural animal husbandry produces a considerable amount of ammonia, which forms particulates in the atmosphere after chemical reactions. Wood fires in residential areas contribute to air pollution by particulate matter on cold days.

Through open windows and via shoes and clothing, these pollutants can also get into indoor spaces and thus into the indoor air and impair the air quality. Furthermore, candles, tobacco smoke, open fireplaces and cooking and frying also contribute to particulates pollution.

In addition, allergens from pets and chemicals from carpets and furniture can cling to the particulates particles. particulates particles can also enter the indoor air when vacuuming and through office equipment such as printers, copiers and computers.

Sensor used:

particulates is measured by means of optical scattering. An infrared LED and a detector are separated by a wall and never "see" each other directly. Only when a particulates particle appears in the light of the LED does the detector see a flash. The sensor counts these flashes and depending on how bright they are, it detects whether it is a large particle (bright, PM₁₀) or a very small particle (dark, PM₁).

The advantage of the sensor used is the particularly good measuring accuracy compared to very expensive particle counters. The disadvantage of the measuring principle is a cross-sensitivity to water vapour or mist. These fine water droplets also flash at very high relative humidity (> 90 %) and are counted as particulates.

PM₁, PM₂,₅ and PM₁₀ measure:

To get to the bottom of the causes of dangerously high concentrations of particulates in indoor air, it helps to use an indoor air measuring device such as the air-Q, which can measure all three different sizes PM₁, PM₂,₅ and PM₁₀ via sensors. You can order the air analyser in the online shop.

air-Q Air Quality Meter

Monitor air quality, all air components and environmental influences with the air-Q. For your health and performance.

Feinstaub PM10 PM2,5 PM1 Icon

Feinstaub (PM1 - PM10)

Als Feinstaub bezeichnet man ein Gemisch aus festen und flüssigen Schwebstoffen mit sehr kleinem Durchmesser. Abhängig von Partikelgröße und Zusammensetzung kann Feinstaub die Atemwege und das Herz-Kreislauf-System nachhaltig beeinträchtigen. Mit dem Luftanalysator air-Q lässt sich Feinstaub unterschiedlicher Partikelgrößen (PM10, PM2,5, PM1) messen.

Messbar mit dem air-Q

✓ Ja

Beschreibung:

Der Begriff „Staub“ beschreibt ein komplexes physikalisch-chemisches Gemisch aus luftgetragenen, flüssigen oder festen Teilchen. Diese werden auch als PM (englisch: particulate matter) und auf Deutsch generell als Partikel bezeichnet.

Partikel mit sehr kleinem Durchmesser, die bis in die Bronchien gelangen können, werden als „Feinstaub“ oder sogar Ultrafeinstaub bezeichnet. Bei der Zusammensetzung gibt es sehr große Unterschiede bei verschiedenen Feinstäuben. Feinstaub kann sowohl organisches als auch anorganisches Material enthalten.

Unterschiedliche Partikelgrößen, die beispielsweise vom air-Q Luftanalysator gemessen werden können, werden als PM10, PM2,5 oder PM1 bezeichnet.

Feinstaub verfügt über ein hohes Absorptionspotenzial für gasförmige Spurenstoffe. Dadurch reichern sich besonders Schadstoffe mit vergleichsweise hohen Siedepunkten (z.B. Pestizide und Weichmacher) sehr einfach am Feinstaub an und verstärken das Gesundheitsrisiko durch das Atmen der mit Feinstaub kontaminierten Luft.

Grenzwerte für PM1 bis PM10:

Da die Schädlichkeit des Feinstaubs von der Größe der Partikel abhängt, wurden auch verschiedene Grenzwerte bestimmt. Generell gilt: Je kleiner die Feinstaub-Partikel sind, umso tiefer können sie in die Lunge und die Blutbahn eindringen. Das erhöht ihre Gefährlichkeit für den Menschen.

Für Feinstaub PM10 (dessen Partikel kleiner als 10 µm sind) setzt das Umweltbundesamt für die Außenluft einen Tagesgrenzwert von 50 μg/m³ und einen Jahresmittelwert von 40 μg/m³. Der Tagesgrenzwert darf lediglich an 35 Tagen im Jahr überschritten werden.

Feinstaub mit kleineren Partikeln kann noch tiefer in die Atemwege eindringen. Daher gilt seit 2015 für Feinstaub PM2.5 (Partikel mit einem Durchmesser unter 2,5 μm) der von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO festgelegte Tagesmittelwert von 25 μg/m³ in der Außenluft auch in Wohnräumen als Beurteilungswert.

Bisher gibt es für noch kleinere Feinstaubpartikel der Kategorie PM1 keine standardisierten Messverfahren, daher gibt es für diese besonders gefährlichen – weil zu 100 % in die Lungenbläschen gelangenden – Partikel noch keinen gesetzlichen Grenzwert. Die so kleinen Partikel werden auch als Ultrafeinstaub bezeichnet.

Folgen zu hoher Feinstaub-Konzentration:

Die genaue Bewertung der gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen von Feinstaub ist auf Grund seiner uneinheitlichen Zusammensetzung schwierig. Allerdings wird grundsätzlich von einer Schädigung der Gesundheit durch Feinstaub ausgegangen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Schadstoffen gibt es für die Konzentration des Feinstaubs keine wirklichen Grenzwerte, unterhalb derer keine gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen zu erwarten wären – jede noch so geringe Menge gilt als schädlich.

Unabhängig von der Art des Feinstaubs reizen die Partikel die Atemwege und können dort zu entzündlichen Veränderungen führen. Je nach Zusammensetzung können im Feinstaub gebundene Schadstoffe allergische Reaktionen hervorrufen oder, wie z.B. bei Kohlestaub, die Lungenbläschen zerstören.

Besonders die kleineren Partikel können über die Lungenbläschen auch in den Blutkreislauf gelangen und somit das Herz-Kreislauf-System nachhaltig beeinträchtigen. Bestimmte Stoffe können zudem das Herzinfarktrisiko steigern (z.B. schwefelhaltiger Feinstaub) oder auch krebserregend wirken (z.B. Asbest).

Außerdem kann es zu einer Reizung der Schleimhäute von Augen, Nase und Rachenraum kommen. Auch eine Schädigung des zentralen Nervensystems kann nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Entstehung von Feinstaub:

Natürliche Emissionen (aus z.B. Bodenerosion, Meeren, Vulkanen, Wald- und Buschbränden) sowie biogene Partikel (z.B. Viren, Sporen von Pilzen und Bakterien, Pollenflug, Ausscheidungen von Hausstaub-Milben) gelten als besonder häufige Feinstaub-Quellen. Die vom Menschen verursachte Luftverschmutzung ist allerdings ohne Zweifel die Hauptursache für Feinstaub.

In der Außenluft hat Feinstaub seinen Ursprung vorwiegend in Emissionen aus Industrieanlagen, Kraftwerken und dem Straßenverkehr. Ebenso erzeugt die landwirtschaftliche Tierhaltung eine beträchtliche Menge Ammoniak, der in der Atmosphäre nach chemischen Reaktionen Feinstaub bildet. Holzfeuerungen in Siedlungsgebieten tragen an kalten Tagen zur Luftbelastung durch Feinstaub bei.

Durch offene Fenster und über die Schuhe und Kleidung können diese Schadstoffe auch in Innenräume und damit in die Raumluft geraten und die Luftqualität beeinträchtigen. Weiterhin tragen auch Kerzen, Tabakrauch, offene Kamine sowie das Kochen und Braten zur Feinstaubbelastung bei.

Zudem können sich Allergene von Haustieren und Chemikalien aus Teppichen und Möbelstücken an die Feinstaub-Partikel klammern. Auch beim Staubsaugen sowie durch Bürogeräte wie Drucker, Kopierer und Computer können die Feinstaub-Partikel in die Raumluft gelangen.

PM1, PM2,5 und PM10 messen:

Um den Ursachen für gefährlich hohe Feinstaub-Konzentrationen in der Raumluft auf den Grund zu gehen, hilft ein Raumluft-Messgerät wie der air-Q, der alle drei unterschiedlichen Größen PM1, PM2,5 und PM10 über Sensoren messen kann. Vorbestellen kann man den Luftanalysator im Online-Shop.

Übersicht aller Messwerte
air-Q Luftqualität Messgerät

Luftbestandteile, Raumklima und Umwelteinflüsse mit dem air-Q überwachen. Für Ihre Gesundheit und Sicherheit.